and the beat goes on

A few weeks ago, us Sigma Kappa girls (and Sloan!) headed to the Ted.  The rain stopped, and we had a ball catching up.  It’s not often we all get to be together, so we enjoyed spending quality time together.
Last week was Emily’s birthday, and we were out celebrating at a local watering hole and took this picture of the girls and Josh.  After it was posted on instagram that night, I felt so happy.  I really am incredibly blessed with fabulous friends whether friends from college or Atlanta friends or both, I am one lucky girl.  (except for the one girl in the picture I don’t know, but she’s a friend of Emily’s so now she is a friend of mine!)

Last Saturday morning, Jim and I ran a 5k.  Even though we “trained,” he nearly pulled me up the hill, as I was struggling.  He may have had a better race time running without me, but my money wouldn’t bet on it :)  It was a well attended race and only a mile from my house so we could walk to the start line.    I neglected to snap any pictures, but you can imagine that I was rivaling Mrs. Frizzle in the hair department afterwards.

Saturday night was dinner with some friends followed by a comedy show at Whole World Improv Theatre.

I had never been to a comedy show, so Josh and I rounded our friends up for a fun night.  When the show started, about 75% of the audience raised their hands that they had been to this place before and were back again.  It was like Whose Line is it Anyway, and the host even acted like Drew Carey.  The audience threw out suggestions, but there wasn’t a Ryan or Colin or Ryan’s shoes.  We all loved this place.  It was mostly family friendly, which crude humor is funny yes, but these guys had to be creative, and they did an excellent job.  Jeff may have cried he was laughing so hard.  I’d highly recommend this place in midtown.

Then, Sunday was the low country boil fundraiser with church.  We had a great turnout despite the rain, and moved the location from a park to our house, so it was as if Alison and I hosted a party with all of our friends that the church paid for.  All raising money for the Ronald McDonald house.  It was great!

Jim and Josh did an excellent job cooking
May Supper Club was my pick, so we headed to Taqueria del Sol and Jeni’s ice cream this week, which has only been in Atlanta for a few months.
The tacos never disappoint.  Plus, they have the best margaritas in town.

I was excited to try Jeni’s after Meghan nearly crying with excitement when it opened.  I ordered one scoop of the milkiest chocolate in the world and Roxbury Road.  Roxbury Road was amazing.
We were fortunate to go at a time when there wasn’t a long line.  They have lots of unique flavors like wildberry lavender and Bangkok peanut, so it’s definitely worth a try!  We girls had a great night.

That’s all for now.  Hope you have a great Memorial Day weekend!

 

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/6979547/?claim=mcj8g4e9ndj”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

2 thoughts on “and the beat goes on

  1. After I read this post (and after hearing about Jeni’s ice cream dozens of other times), I went this past weekend. It is LIFE-CHANGING. I am glad that I don’t live as close to it as Jim does, otherwise, I would be in big trouble. Thanks for the tip! :)

Leave a Reply

