Typical

I went browsing for furniture this weekend at a consignment shop.

Worker Man: You’re too young to shop here by yourself.

Me: Um, excuse me.

Worker Man: You’re too young to shop here by yourself.

Me: Uh, sir, how old do you think I am?

Worker Man: Well you are probably in your twenties but you look like you’re 17.

Me: I’m 24 (well, almost) and that’s old enough to shop by myself.

Worker Man: Well 17 to 18 year olds don’t shop for furniture.  They shop with their mom.

Me: (with a disgusted face) thinking about how I feel like Kevin at the grocery in Home Alone wanting to tell the man to stop bothering me because he’s a stranger.  I just give a blank look and walk on.

Worker Man: You probably get that a lot don’t you.

Me: I get that I’m young…

 

And that’s it.  I’m really short.  But still.  I can shop without my mom.

One thought on “Typical

  1. You know you look really young when a 17-year old patient tells you that you look too young to be their therapist… I thought it was bad when an adult says it, but it’s even worse when a kid thinks you’re in their class! But SK, when we’re 60, we’re gonna look awesome!

Leave a Reply

