What to do, what to do?

There was a young adult get together Sunday after church.  I didn’t know anyone going, so I thought it would be a good way to meet people.  I was a little nervous before I went in, so I prayed for confidence.

It was easy.  I approached people and introduced myself and managed to have a good time!

On my walk out to my car, a guy from the group was talking to an elderly homeless woman who was sitting in the hallway.  She had asked him if he could put her up in a hotel for a week.  I started talking with them and realized I had no idea what to do.  This is tough for me.  I’m a problem solver.  I asked God for advice, but I felt helpless.

The shelters had curfews and it was getting late.  She had spent the night before at a hospital and said that her last shelter was closed.  I asked her how she got to the church today.  She responded, “The Son of God brought me here.”  This was tough.  The church was closing up too.  It is kept open for people to come in and pray, but the cleaning crew was working and the office was closed.  “Lord, what do I do?” I kept repeating over and over in my head.   “Show me how to love this woman.   How can I help her in the way you would want?”

I knew she couldn’t stay at the church.  It’s not a shelter, but then again, what kind of person am I for kicking someone out of a church?  I want to think about a church as more than a building.

We ended up telling her that she could stay for a little while since she didn’t know where to go but that eventually it would be time for the cleaning crew to lock the doors and for her to leave.  Wasn’t I just leaving this for someone else to deal with?

I don’t feel like I did the right thing.  I still don’t know what the right thing is.  It was so easy for me to be around people similar to me and make friends, but when I was out of my comfort zone, I caved.  Lord, I need to be in tough situations.  I need to learn how to love everyone.  I need to depend on You for guidance and not myself.

Leave a Reply

