In the beginning…

The more and more I realize there is so much I don’t know.  Like until recently I really thought Illinois was west of Iowa.

But right now I want to learn about the Old Testament.  It’s something that I’ve felt convicted about for oh, four years.  What I learned in Sunday School growing up, I didn’t retain, and it’s time for me to know about Esther and Job and everyone else.  I do have to admit my Baptist friends know their Bible and it makes me jealous.  Plus, I’m sure it will give a better perspective of the New Testament.

So… does anyone know of any commentaries either online or in book form that are helpful for reading the OT?  My Bible is a study one, which will definitely be handy, but I’d like something else too.

This is a pretty big undertaking, and I’m not putting a deadline on myself, but maybe I’ll do a post here every once in awhile about what I’m studying.

Happy Holy Week!

2 thoughts on “In the beginning…

  1. Kay Arthur (I know I’m old) does some studies called “Precept upon Precept” and they are amazing. They really help tie everything together so you can really see how each book relates to the others, which is something that’s hard to do when you just read it book by book. They’re kind of a lot of work, but totally worth it.

  2. i want to do this too!!! i retained very little and even feel like when i read bits and pieces of it now, i am lost because of a pretty gaping foundation of OT knowledge. let’s do it….

Leave a Reply

