TRH The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge

I should be talking about Osama bin Laden’s death, but lucky for you, I’m not sophisticated.

Instead, I’d like to talk about (in this one-sided conversation) history that is more my style.  The Royal Wedding.  I don’t want to leave anything out, so this is a play by play.

Friday, April 29 was a monumental day around the world.  A commoner, Kate Middleton, wed Prince William.

I just love them!!

I was on a business trip, so I woke up at 3am (Central time) when coverage began.  I chose NBC.  I’m always loyal to them.  About 2.4 billion people around the world watched it.  Amazing.

The Queen announced the new titles, the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.

The Beckhams
Sir Elton John with his partner.  Oh I love morning suits!  Those tails! Then it was time for the important people to arrive to Westminster Abbey.

Mrs. Middleton and her son James.  Oh I love love her hat!!
Camilla and Charles
Then Princes William and Harry left Clarence House for the Abbey.  Dashing men.
The Queen!
And then I got nervous.  What if Kate backed out?  What if her dress was ugly even though every other day in her life she looks stunning?  Luckily, Sloan (we gchatted during the whole thing) calmed me down.

Pippa and the bridesmaids.  This dress is phenomenal and will hopefully inspire me to workout more.

I wouldn’t pick out white for my bridesmaid dresses, but this was perfect for the royal wedding and only one real bridesmaid.

Then, there she was.  As beautiful as ever and looking just like a princess.

After he told her she looked beautiful, William joked to her father that it was “supposed to be a small family affair.”  The gown was designed by Sarah Burton of Alexander McQueen.  The dressmakers who worked on the lace washed their hands every 30 minutes and changed the needles every 3 hours.  It was a perfect dress.  So Grace Kelly.  I’ve always wanted lace in my wedding, so this was a winner to me!

The 8 foot long train


The ceremony ran perfectly.  I don’t know how she did it, but she looked calm.  She even did her own makeup.  What a woman.  In person, they say she was shaking, which made me feel like she may actually be human.  William struggled getting the wedding band on her finger, but that was the only hiccup.  She even remember all 4 of his names- William Arthur Philip Louis.

After the ceremony, in the beautiful old carriage Kate said, “I’m so happy!”  I love those lip readers.  Also, I know I’m supposed to refer to her now as Catherine or the Duchess, but we’re close, so it’s Kate to me.

The official pictures

Then it was time for my favorite part, the balcony kiss.
William is not a fan of PDA so the kiss was a peck.  But then, the thousands of people outside Buckingham Palace begged for another one.  So they did and it was so sweet!!
 Oh they are so in love!

When Kate stepped out onto the balcony, she said, “Oh, my!”  I don’t think she knew how many people love her.

The noise from the flyover was too much for bridesmaid Grace.  


Then they surprised everyone after the Queen’s champagne lunch by driving back to Clarence House in Prince Charle’s Aston Martin.  By this time, I was at work, but you better believe Sloaner was texting me updates and I may or may not have visited this website a few times.

It was then time for the evening parties.  Prince Charles hosted this at the Palace, but Harry and Pippa took care of the late festivities.

Another fabulous McQueen dress!  And her hair!
Pippa looked superb
 They partied until 3am and left to fireworks going off at the Palace.  Could this wedding have been any better?  Well, they could have invited me!

But other than that, it was everything I wanted!  I love loved it!  I’m obsessed with them.  Seriously, I’m having withdrawals.  Why else would I spend so much time blogging about them after reading every internet story?  Why wasn’t it me?  I know Harry and I would never work out, but I could make it work to live that lifestyle while doing charity work all day.  Oh the sacrifice I would make!  Hopefully he doesn’t even up with this girl who doesn’t brush her hair…
The happy couple will honeymoon later, but they did spend a nice weekend at an undisclosed location in England.

Best of luck to them!  I just know they will make it work.  They’ve dated for 10 years and are so much in love!  My heart just melts.  Cheers!

Now, here’s to hoping they have kids soon!

2 thoughts on “TRH The Duke and Duchess of Cambridge

  1. In that official picture of the two of them, they should have fluffed her skirt out a little more. But other than that, they are just perfection!

  2. Pingback: Hats off to Hats | The Girl With Curls

Leave a Reply

