The Boy Who Lived

It’s a very bittersweet time,” Fellman (Warner Brothers director) told TheWrap. “What’s made this movie so special is that many of the fans who went to see the first movie holding the hands of their moms are the same fans driving to midnight shows tonight. This is more than a motion picture, it’s a cultural phenomenon.”

I believe the Harry Potter books are amazing.  They greatly influenced my generation.  I may or may not have been a member of a HP book club.  However, my knowledge isn’t that of Whitney’s or Matt’s.  Whitney continuously reads them.  If you don’t like them, well then I doubt you have read them.  If you haven’t read them, go now and start.  I will loan you my copy.  They are amazing.  Yes, the beginning ones are easy, but they get better and better with each book.

I truly agree with Fellman.  I think I read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone in sixth grade.  I grew up with Harry, Ron, and Hermoine.  As the books got better, I got older.  It worked well.  And the movies, well they are just great.  The first ones with Chris Columbus directing and John Williams doing the music, well how is that not a perfect combo?  JK Rowling created a magical world (pun intended) with amazing characters.  I don’t know how she thought of everything but wow.  I am forever grateful.

It all ended 7.15.2011.  Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2
We (Whitney, Sloaner, Matt, and I) of course went to the midnight showing.

But first, we had to wait in line.  We got there 2.5 hours early and the line was already formed.
 Everyone was dressed up.

Professor McGonagall

Bellatrix and Dobby or maybe Winky
Malfoy, who dueled another guy.  An hour of “Stupefy” and “Expelliarmus”
 Some students
My personal favorite, the Golden Snitch
 Dobby (love the ears and Starbucks for serving butterbeer)

Yours truly as Luna Lovegood (not shown are my mustard colored tights.  Oh baby!)
Well everyone except these jokers dressed up
We had a good time

And this was even before the movie.

When we finally got into the theater, I was nervous, anxious, scared, sad, and so excited.  I felt all of it.  Sad that it was about to be over but we were so looking forward to see how it was done.

As MuggleNet said, “When the curtain opens at the cinema for the premiere of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2, one cannot help but feel like this is a hollow victory. This film marks the end of both Harry’s and our own adventure; a story that has lingered throughout our childhoods and integrated itself firmly within our adult lives. Many of us embraced Harry at a young age and as such, have developed a maternal bond with the character over the years. We are, after all, very particular with how the character (and his friends) are portrayed in the film adaptations. We are particular with how the tyranny of Voldemort is adequately demonstrated; particular with how Hogwarts is represented; particular that Harry’s love-interest feels believable and we are particularly insistent that the film delivers us a reincarnation of the joy, delight, sorrow, heartache, suspense and closure that the books so lovingly brought. We are, it seems, a rather demanding fandom.”

Yes, what he said.

It was done well, indeed.  I loved it.  I was crying when certain people die, laughing when Whitney was sobbing, and shrieking when there was anything scary on the screen.

It was so good that I saw it again on Saturday.  I will probably go again.

So, go see it.  You will love it.

Then, together we can wait for Pottermore.

Leave a Reply

