Platform 9 3/4

I am one in a million.

Out of the one million spots in the world for Pottermore, I earned one.  Same thing.

For you muggles, it’s a website JK created that gives the backstory of characters and everything about Harry Potter.  The one million spots for the beta version were filled by only those who could answer questions about Harry Potter correctly.  Now, they are slowly releasing the logins for this website to that one million.

Don’t fret, this will be open to everyone in October.  The website isn’t even fully up and running.

However, I recently received my email that it was time for me to sign in!

Everyone has a username to choose from based on HP things.  I am the great SeekerSeer66.  Once entering the HP world, you go through each chapter in the book where you learn about characters more and buy your school supplies (books, scales, cauldron, wand) at Diagon Alley after of course going to Gringotts.   Later, I’ll duel other houses and work on potions.
 After getting off the Hogwarts Express, you get sorted into your house by the Sorting Hat.

Now, this is it.  Flashback to rush.  Judgement Day.

Whitney and I always have a running joke that I’d be a Hufflepuff, but that I’d rule the Hufflepuffs.  Were we right?  This would be the official test and put all those online quizzes to shame.

Oh you may not think I’m pretty,
But don’t judge on what you see,
I’ll eat myself if you can find
A smarter hat than me.

You can keep your bowlers black,
Your top hats sleek and tall,
For I’m the Hogwarts Sorting Hat
And I can cap them all.

There’s nothing hidden in your head
The Sorting Hat can’t see,
So try me on and I will tell you
Where you ought to be.

You might belong in Gryffindor,
Where dwell the brave at heart,
Their daring, nerve, and chivalry
Set Gryffindors apart;

You might belong in Hufflepuff,
Where they are just and loyal,
Those patient Hufflepuffs are true
And unafraid of toil;

Or yet in wise old Ravenclaw,
if you’ve a ready mind,
Where those of wit and learning,
Will always find their kind;

Or perhaps in Slytherin
You’ll make your real friends,
Those cunning folks use any means
To achieve their ends.

So put me on! Don’t be afraid!
And don’t get in a flap!
You’re in safe hands (though I have none)
For I’m a Thinking Cap!

So I took a fairly detailed quiz.  I can only remember some.

What color are your eyes?
Are you below average, average, or above average height for your age?  I think we all know how I answered that one.
Would you rather go towards the beach, the forest, or the castle?
If you walked into a forest, which would be most intriguing to you- a wizarding statue, a tree with unique fruit, talking mushrooms, etc.

Then, it was time to turn over my bid day card click submit.

I can proudly say that I’m a
 Ravenclaw!  I always did love Luna, Cho, Ollivander, and Flitwick!

I didn’t think I was that eccentric, but I guess no one ever really does.  I received a letter all about Ravenclaw history, well known Ravenclaws, and what we’re all about.  Then, it goes on to say that Gryffindors are great, but they tend to be show-offs who are less tolerant and don’t have our intellectual curiosity.  Not to knock them too much  because well, they’re not Slytherin.  I think they do that to make people ok with the fact that they’re not like Harry Potter.  Really, we’re all friends, some just with more of a love for turnip earrings.

I’m very happy with this selection!   A guy at work today even told me, “I didn’t want to say anything earlier, but Ravensclaw is way cooler than HufflePuff.”

Leave a Reply

