How to decorate a mantle for next to nothing

Sometimes being an adult gets in the way of decorating.  Car insurance.  Doctor bills.  Oh and rent.  Thus, this year we decorated for Christmas on a budget.

Luckily, we have some magnolia trees in our yard.  I took my chair and clippers out there one afternoon and gathered the magnolias.  I also used the trimmings from our tree.  I guess you have to buy a tree to get this part, but I’m sure the lovely people at Pike’s would let you take the extra.

We mixed in Sloan’s garland, pinecones and holly from the yard, and some ornaments.  I guess you can say we went green.

Total cost: free!



You can read about the rest of our decorating in Sloan’s post.  I just love our house at Christmas!

Leave a Reply

