Book List 2011

Today the Nester did a post on book lists.  I’ve been keeping a running list on the book tab of my blog, but I’m not sure if some were 2010 or 2011.

Books I think I read in 2011

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
Persuasion by Jane Austen
Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen
The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
Beach Music by Pat Conroy
South of Broad by Pat Conroy
Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett
The Firm by John Grisham
William and Catherine: Their Story by Andrew Morton
The Dwelling Place by Elizabeth Musser
The Swan House by Elizabeth Musser
The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger
Harvey Penick’s Little Red Book: Lessons and Teachings from a Lifetime in Golf by Harvey Penick
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
Who: The A Method for Hiring by Geoff Smart and Randy Street
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
The Help by Kathryn Stockett
The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

Out of these, I think The Help was my favorite.  Harry Potter was brilliant, but I had already read it.  I do have to say that I truly loved every book I read, but I also read Amazon reviews on most books prior to buying them.

What I’m reading now

The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton
Breaking Free by Beth Moore

For 2012, I’m going to try to expand my genre from southern fiction, though I can’t stay away.

What I want to read in 2012 

My Life in France by Julia Child
Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris
Into the Wild by Jon Krakauer
Downing Street Years by Margaret Thatcher
How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie
The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy
The Great Santini by Pat Conroy
Anything suggested!

I really want to be one of those people that can read Crime and Punishment, but I feel like I need an English teacher to help me along.  I should start mixing in more classics.  There’s always sparknotes!

12 thoughts on “Book List 2011

  1. ooh, Crime and Punishment is a good one ;) but you’ve read some pretty classic ones as it is! Persuasion is actually my favorite Jane Austen novel…and I read Anne of Green Gables any chance I get. Love your list. I really need to read The Glass Castle, it keeps coming up from others to read. Thanks for sharing!

  2. There are some great books on that list – you’ll be happy reading with that lot. I recently read The Help and really loved it too. If you’re a fan of Southern writing, have you read The Known World? – an interesting other perspective.
    As for Crime and Punishment – just do it! It is one of the greatest books ever written and, unlike Tolstoy, Dostoyevsky’s books are not too big. Give it a crack, it’s awesome.
    Happy New Year!

  3. I read the Forgotten Garden in 2010. I really enjoyed it. I loved the Help, too. If you read “Into the Wild”, are you going to watch the movie? I read the book but I had to shut off the movie after a few minutes.

  4. Wow – it sounds like we have really similar taste in books! Little Women, Persuasion, The Help! And I’m with you on Crime and Punishment. I tried so hard to read it. I even told myself I couldn’t read anything else until I read it {didn’t work!}.

  5. I loved The Forgotten Garden. If you haven’t read The Thirteenth Tale, I think that you would enjoy it, too. I also liked the Hunger Game series. My older children are reading it now. It is fun to discuss books with them. Enjoy reading your way into the new year!

  6. I absolutely loved The Forgotten Garden. I loved it so much that I’ve read more of Kate Morton’s books. I agree with Donna…The Thirteenth Tale was a great read too.

Leave a Reply

