Kind of but not really Mastering the Art of French Cooking

I love La Madeleine.  Wonderful food with free French lessons in the restroom.  That’s innovative!  It’s where Jamie and I always meet and sometimes our moms come too!

So after I received this nice quiche pan for Christmas, I thought I would recreate some of my favorite meal from the restaurant.

I made the crust using this recipe and the filling for a quiche florentine using this one.

Store bought crusts may look nicer, but homemade crusts really taste so much better.
I also made a potato galette.  This is Wolfgang Puck’s recipe.  When you start thinking wow, you are a master chef, you can see there are only four ingredients that are simply fried together.

Plus, I may have not been paying attention and put the pan on a tiny burner and didn’t realize until half an hour later when nothing was cooking, so they turned out to be sophisticated hash browns.
I topped off the meal with strawberries.  Those are French, you know.  I decided against creating La Madeleine’s strawberry romanoff because I put my foot at a 2,000 calorie meal.  1500 calories is ok though.

Voila!
 Happy New Year and Go Dawgs!

One thought on “Kind of but not really Mastering the Art of French Cooking

Leave a Reply

