Atlanta History Center

A few years ago I made a list of museums and places I’ve wanted to go to in Atlanta.  I haven’t crossed much off that list, so I’m starting now.  Plus, going to a museum by yourself is quite nice.  You can go at whatever pace you feel like and you feel quite independent.  However, it would have been nice to discuss everything with someone.

First up was the Atlanta History Center right in Buckhead.

I read The Swan House last year, so I made sure to tour the actual Swan House.
I wasn’t allowed to take any pictures inside, but it was amazing.  Marble tables.  Walnut stairs.  Hand-painted wallpaper from London.  Yes, I think I could live in this house.

I’ve toured lots of plantations and old homes that were all built prior to electricity, so it was neat to see a home of this magnitude with a telephone room and heating system.
There were swans all over the house, but my favorite was the one over the door.
There were gardens.
 The Atlanta History Center sits on 33 acres, so I forgot I was even in Atlanta.
I ventured into the museum, where there are exhibitions on the Civil War, golf and Bobby Jones, the 1996 Olympics in Atlanta (ready for London 2012!), folk art, and other Atlanta history.

I enjoyed the museum, but I liked the Swan House better.

It was really cool to see Bobby Jones’ British Open trophy
and someone’s Master’s jacket.

All in all, it was a nice excursion!

One thought on “Atlanta History Center

  1. I feel like Bobby Jones’ trophy should be in Augusta… Atlanta gets everything else (the Coke factory, the aquarium). We claim all things Master’s down here :)

Leave a Reply

