What I’ve been reading

I really haven’t been reading much lately.  I don’t know what happened, but I’ve only been doing a book every 3 weeks or month.  Whoops!

Here are my most recent reads

Little Bee by Chris Cleave (In the UK, it’s called The Other Hand)

loved this book.  Even though the author is male, he wrote from the perspective of two women whose lives become connected and did it so well.  I could not put this book down.  Now I can’t wait to read more of his works.

My Life in France by Julia Child and Alex Prud’Homme
I read this book to be inspired to cook more and it did help me cook.  Once.  Most of the recipes were pretty elaborate, but Julia Child seemed wonderful as well as her life in France.  Plus, when I think of her I think of Meryl Streep and that makes me happy.

The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible by A.J. Jacobs
The author lives for one year following all rules from the Bible.  He doesn’t shave, he won’t touch anything his wife has touched during her “time,” he stones (in the nicest way possible) an adulterer.
This book is humorous but also educational.  He interviews Amish, a Jehovah Witness, and a rabbi who inspects clothes to make sure the fibers aren’t mixed.  I didn’t even know that was a profession.

Sarah’s Key by Tatiana de Rosnay
Kacina loved this book and loaned it to me.  I was hesitant to read it because I have a hard time dealing with the Holocaust (thank you Lifetime movie in seventh grade).

This book is about the Vel’ d’Hiv roundup in Paris in 1942 and a girl who locks her brother in their secret cupboard to hide him from the police.  The story is then connected back to 2002 with a reporter researching the roundup.

I could only read a few chapters a night because it was emotional and difficult to read, but this book was great.  A great book club book.

Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

