It’s A Good Thing

Saturday morning my friend Hannah (who loves Martha and named her blog after her!) and I went to see Martha Stewart speak at Home Depot.  Now that her show is no longer on air, she is promoting her paint, carpet, Christmas trees and decorations, curtain rods, and I’m sure other projects that she sells at Home Depot.

We were in the first 100 in line, so we received an autograph (which was more like a copy of one), a subscription to her magazine (this is what I wanted), and a $5 Home Depot gift card!
There were some Marthas in Training.  Too cute!
Martha and her #2, Kevin, showed pictures of their houses and discussed their style.  They discussed types of rugs and how far to the wall area rugs vs. regular rugs should go.  One tip: When sitting in a dinner table, when you pull your chair out to get up, all four legs should be on the rug.  Also, all legs of furniture should all be either on or off the rug.

Martha was actually pretty funny.  She would engage with the audience and she would say oh you can definitely do this, to which Kevin replied, “Well of course you think so, you’re Martha Stewart.”

She did have some Marthaisms.  When describing one house of hers, she said, “This is my house.  Guest house.  Well really it’s where I keep my books.  It’s my library house.”

Because we all have a house just for books.  When telling Sloan this story, we discussed how we have a bookcase for books now.  Maybe a library room later in life.  Nope, we’d be find with a wall for books within a room.

Though I’d move in with her if she asked.  I’ve always loved her Bedford house.  Stables and homemade cider.  I’d never leave.

I love these decorations.
I like how the picks on this one are heavily concentrated at the top and trickle down the wreath.  All of her trees are lit for Christmas.

This is her cappuccino maker that President and Secretary of State Clinton came over to use one day.

After discussing her pictures and doing some crafts, which I thought were tacky, she started taking questions, but I had to head out early.  It was a fun morning with the women and gays of Atlanta!

Leave a Reply

