When Doves Fly

Did you know that opening day of dove season was 2 Saturdays ago?  Well I did, as hunting dates are now kept on my calendar.

We’ve spent the past two weekends down at the farm so the boys can go hunting.  It worked out nicely with dove opening day falling on Georgia’s bye weekend and the next weekend playing away at South Carolina (and we did not play so well, but I won’t go into that).

{peanut field}

While I thought most hunting takes place in the morning, dove hunting is in the afternoon when the doves come to the sunflower field to feed.  While the boys are out sweating and shooting in the central Georgia heat, we girls drove around the golf cart.  We are fans of waiting at the house until the temperature cools off.
Jim sits on this stool that swivels and it has two layers inside to hold ammo, water, and then doves.
I was ok with him killing doves until someone told me that they mate for life…

The first weekend, I couldn’t touch a dove, but by the second weekend, I was helping him pick them up.  But I still get close to gagging when he cleans them.
We picked peanuts from the farm in the morning and boiled them, a Georgia treat I love.
The next weekend Josh joined us
and sweet Mrs. Patty acted as the cart girl taking cold water to all the hunters.  It’s a country club out there y’all.
Ladies, this man is not available
While some girls prefer fancy dinners, I love that my guy takes me out to the dove field with him.

and then on the day we’ve been dating a year, he sends me flowers!
He sure is sweet
and because I know y’all want to know-
Outfit Details

Shirt and hat: a closet at the farm
Shorts: Target, circa 2011

2 thoughts on “When Doves Fly

  1. Good job on the flower Jim-bo, and SK, I am impressed that you are now the “dove collector”. You are made of stronger stuff. :) You go girl!

Leave a Reply

