High Cotton

Now that I’m all caught up on SEC Wives, I can get back to blogging.  (and don’t you think Sloan and I should do a podcast discussing that show?  I mean, I love Katharyn Richt and Mama Mullen was a woman I would want to be friends with, but I was surprised by Les Miles’ wife)

Two weekends ago we headed down to the farm right when they were starting to pick cotton.  It was like going on a great field trip where I learned so much and now that I’m not in elementary school, I appreciate it.

About 10 days before each field is picked, something (a chemical I guess) is put on the cotton so the leaves fall off.  Hence why some fields are white as snow and others don’t look ready.
Jim and I climbed up into the tractor and rode inside while they picked cotton.  It was so cool.
It picks 6 rows at a time and quickly separates the cotton from the rest of the plant.
This tractor is air conditioned.  Amazing to think how far they have come from when it was picked by hand.  
A tractor comes by to pick up the full cotton picker and take it over to the pack and press.  (I have no idea what any of these things are called, but this sounds what it should be called.)

And then this thing goes through and the guy makes it go back and forth and up and down so that it compacts the cotton super tightly so when it is removed there is a module of cotton, standing on its own the size of a tractor-trailer.

I forgot to take a picture of a module, so here is one from the worldwide web.
cotton module

Then it gets taken to be cleaned and turned into our clothes.  Oh, how I love cotton.  The south’s version of snow.

Mrs. Patty taught me so much about picking cotton, and I had a grand old time watching the process.  Riding in the tractor was awesome.  With a Georgia win, it was a perfect Saturday!

2 thoughts on “High Cotton

Leave a Reply

